Eat What You Kill

Lion

One of my mentors was talking to me about a time when he worked in direct sales for an insurance company, and he said it was an eat-what-you kill way to live…in other words, he earned every sale, whether he paid in the time it took to sell, or the time it took to learn how to sell effectively. In a corporate position, if you don’t give your best, you still get paid. In a direct sales position in which you only earn commission, if you don’t sell, you don’t eat. But he said that when he got paid, he felt as though he had honestly earned it.

I was thinking about this and how it applies to all of our lives, and I think a lot of us feel we are entitled to certain things. This includes breaks during work, vacations, days off, raises, love, etc. The truth is, none of us are entitled to anything. It’s easy to get into a mindset where we take things like this for granted, but if you’re complaining that you deserve a raise or a better relationship or a fitter body, then maybe the reason you aren’t getting it is because you aren’t earning it.

I think it’s better to get into the eat-what-you-kill mindset, where you know if you want something, you have to earn it. I’ve always said that everything in life costs exactly what it’s worth to have. If you want something more than you have, you’re going to have to do more than you’re currently doing. Work smarter or harder for a raise or increased sales. Be more loving and understanding in a relationship if you want more out of it. If you’re in school and you want better grades, that change is going to come from your work, not the professor.

When you get into this mindset, you realize that your life is up to you. Any change you make in the way you do things will make a difference in what you get. It may not be immediate, but it will happen. So figure out what in your life you want to change, and then earn it. Eat what you kill.

This post will also be featured on TheBulbCulture.wordpress.com. Be sure to head over there to see more great stuff, and contact Jacob to submit articles! He’s building a community of positive people to motivate each other and others.

19 comments

  1. controversialcook · April 14, 2015

    I’m a very peaceful person and I don’t want to kill anything 🙂 However, your post makes a lot of good sense, as the proverb says “You reap what you sow.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • irrationalliving · April 14, 2015

      Yes, I feel the same way! Thanks for that. I’ve always loved that proverb…everything in life seems to give out what you put in.

      Like

  2. phuryk · April 15, 2015

    Reblogged this on Fill Your Boots and commented:
    Good perspective on the world.

    Liked by 1 person

    • irrationalliving · April 15, 2015

      Thanks so much for the reblog. I appreciate it and I’m glad you enjoyed it 🙂

      Like

  3. AmazinglyBrash · April 15, 2015

    Excellent mentality! This is our life and we do have to go after what we want. But once we have it, we earned it, and are therefore entitled to it. Any contract we sign, we are entitled to the benefits of that contract. Whether it’s a relationship or work….we shouldn’t have to work for what we have already earned. Everything else in this piece I agree with and endorse. Keep putting your ideas out there, it will challenge people to think.

    Liked by 1 person

    • irrationalliving · April 15, 2015

      Where did I say we had to work for what we’ve already earned? I think that may be a misunderstanding, because I didn’t mean that. Although I do think if we earn a job, we have to at least continue at the level we were at to maintain that job. Anything else would be deceitful. I may have misconstrued something though. Let me know what made you think I was saying that 🙂

      Like

      • AmazinglyBrash · April 15, 2015

        “includes breaks during work, vacations, days off, raises, love, etc. The truth is, none of us are entitled to anything.” We are entitled to those things because we signed a contract which grants us those things. We are entitled to what we earned or was even promised….

        Liked by 1 person

      • irrationalliving · April 15, 2015

        Oh I see. But in that case, you’re required to “hold up your end of the bargain.” You’re not really entitled to vacation and raises if you do no work, because they hired you and you agreed to perform at a certain level for them. Of course you’re entitled to them if you continuously earn them, but getting hired/married doesn’t mean you’re done with work and you get to exclusively reap the benefits and not work anymore. Really you’ve earned the right to continuously earn those things.

        Like

      • AmazinglyBrash · April 15, 2015

        It does require you to maintain your job but not your work ethic. Vacation, work breaks, and raises (based on the union and contract) are all thing you receive, just by working at the job. So everyone at the job is entitled to those perks equally.

        Liked by 1 person

      • irrationalliving · April 15, 2015

        You’re saying work ethic doesn’t need to persist in order to be entitled to those things? So if we both get the same job, you work just as hard as you always have and I do nothing at all, you think we’re both entitled to keep our jobs, get paid the same, and receive the same benefits? I would disagree. I think if you accept a position you’re promising the company that your work ethic will remain the same or improve. They’re not hiring you for what you’ve done in that past to earn the job, they’re hiring you for what you’ll do for them in the future.

        Liked by 1 person

      • AmazinglyBrash · April 15, 2015

        I am saying the job comes with all of those entitlements built in. It isn’t based on performance or going above and beyond. People should advance based on their performance or skill level but vacations and work breaks aren’t based on those things. It’s based on getting hired. Intriguity should definitely be rewarded (even though it isn’t). People should honor a standard, we agree on that. But people are entitled in certain areas of life.

        Liked by 1 person

      • irrationalliving · April 16, 2015

        I guess we’ll just have to agree to disagree on this one! Interesting to hear your thoughts though, so thanks for sharing.

        Like

      • AmazinglyBrash · April 16, 2015

        Agreeing to disagree is why people can’t change lives….how could you influence a standard, when everyone could just agree to disagree???? Great Leaders must make decisions, they can’t live in the gray. If you are going to change the world, you must have the patience to find common ground. Think about it….

        Liked by 1 person

      • irrationalliving · April 16, 2015

        I agree…but I have made a decision, and so have you. I am standing by my decision because I believe that hard work should be rewarded, and no work should not be rewarded at all. Neither of us are living in the gray. Actually, we’re both furthest away from the gray as possible haha. Common ground would be the gray. I agree that great leaders make decisions, which is what I’ve done. I’m always open to hearing people’s opinions, especially if they are opposed to mine, but at some point I need to stand for what I believe. And I would have to say in response, that if YOU want to change the world, you’re going to have to stand firmly for the things you believe.

        Like

      • AmazinglyBrash · April 16, 2015

        What???? I am saying hard work should get rewarded. We agree on that. I am stating a fact, that if you work for a job, the benefits are an entitlement of that job.
        Entitle: give (someone) a legal right or a just claim to receive or do something. It’s a legal right to get vacation, workbreaks, and at some jobs raises. You said we aren’t entitled to anything, but you are wrong. People have fought so others are entitled to the fruits of their labors. I told you in the beginning that I believe in the mentality of what you were saying, just that one pieces (which I pointed out) hurt the focus of your delivery.

        Great leaders assess both side of an argument and adapt the stronger, more beneficial prospective. Great leaders think about what will benefit the group, what they personal feel should have little bearing on a logical outcome. Again, I agree with working for what we receive, I disagree that we aren’t entitled to anything. I am working for my children and your children’s entitlements now. We should be entitled to live in a honest, caring, and Loving world.

        Liked by 1 person

      • irrationalliving · April 16, 2015

        I agree that we should be entitled to the three unalienable rights, but other than that, I don’t think we’re entitled to anything. You said that work ethic doesn’t need to remain the same to be entitled to those job benefits. I believe it does. Sure, you are given vacation days for an entire year, but you’re not entitled to vacation days. I come from corporate America where everyone complained that they weren’t paid well enough, never got raises, and deserved more vacation days, but they spent half the day on their phones. That is a sense of entitlement that baffles me. And I think the company is entitled to fire them for not performing. So no, they’re not entitled to vacation days. They’re entitled to continue doing work in order to receive them. That’s what people have fought for – the right to the pursuit of happiness, not to happiness. Maybe it’s just the word “entitled” that’s bugging me, because it has a negative connotation.

        Like

      • AmazinglyBrash · April 16, 2015

        If the company isn’t firing those people, they are entitled to what is in their contract. I believe they shouldn’t feel “entitled” to more, if they aren’t earning it. Just like the people that work hard are “entitled” to raises or promotions.

        Liked by 1 person

      • irrationalliving · April 16, 2015

        Well yes, but then they aren’t really entitled to those things. They’re privileges, not entitlements. You’re right, we do agree. Is a disagreement on semantics. I suppose I just don’t like the word “entitled” haha

        Like

      • AmazinglyBrash · April 16, 2015

        I can see that….but it’s a great thing when used properly

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

