What Stress And Anxiety Really Mean

Pulling Hair

I had an interesting conversation with my girlfriend last night. She’s in school to become a Physical Therapist, and she mentioned the controversy surrounding how to treat an injury immediately after it occurs: heat or ice. Some people maintain that ice is better because it reduces swelling which prevents further injury, while others say that heat is better because it promotes the effects of swelling, which is our body’s natural response to injury.

This last part is what interested me the most. Maybe it’s wise to listen to our bodies…after all, they have millions of years of evolution on their side…they know what heals them the most efficiently.

And it’s about this I wanted to talk to you today. Stress and anxiety seem to be the two worst things getting the most buzz and attention. Why do we stress? Lots of people will say it’s from working too hard and too long…but I don’t buy it. The people who do what they love for a living willingly work 80 hours a week sometimes and don’t feel the negative effects of stress. So what gives?

Well, here’s an idea: stress and anxiety are signals your body sends to you, and they must be sent for a reason. I think that it sends those signals to you to let you know something on the outside needs to change. It’s similar to a fight or flight response. So, what I’m really saying here is, if you’re overwhelmed by stress and anxiety, and maybe even depression, it very well could be your body telling you that you need to make a change.

What kind of change? It could be a myriad of things: diet, physical appearance, your career, your income, your relationships, your spending habits…anything. What are you unhappy about? More importantly, what are you unhappy about and don’t consciously realize you’re unhappy about? Take your stress as a sign that something needs to change, and then take the responsibility to make that change occur.

This post will also be featured on TheBulbCulture.wordpress.com. Be sure to head over there to see more great stuff, and contact Jacob to submit articles! He’s building a community of positive people to motivate each other and others.

12 comments

  1. mferrara24 · April 10, 2015

    Great post! I’ve finally settled on where I stand on this “great icing debate”… For now. So much conflicting information from reliable sources. Also I like what you said about listening to your anxiety as a sign to make some changes. I’ve been dealing with anxiety for quite some time, and finally started listening to it. As a result, I’ve learned a lot about myself. Once again great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • irrationalliving · April 10, 2015

      Awesome! It’s great to hear about people making positive changes in their lives. Thanks for the positive feedback. Also…I injured my ankle yesterday, and I used heat instead of ice. Feels just fine today, so I’m thinking maybe heat will work for me in the future haha. Maybe it’s a personal thing, or a mental thing. Keep making those positive changes!

      Like

      • mferrara24 · April 10, 2015

        I’ve found a combination of ice and rest for first 24-48 hours, then heat, compression, and progressive ROM and load increases thereafter. I’ll post a link to what I have found is the best method for treating injuries relating to this subject. It would be awesome to hear what you and your girlfriend think. Also thanks for the kind words!

        Liked by 1 person

      • irrationalliving · April 10, 2015

        Great, looking forward to reading that as well! Any time πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Elle · April 10, 2015

    Great post! I needed this. I’m a mess of stress and anxiety lately, honestly, for a while now. I need to listen closely to my body and respond. I’m going to spend this weekend doing just that, I’ll write about it and link to this post when I do πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • irrationalliving · April 10, 2015

      That’s great to hear! That’s a huge decision, but a great one. I hope it does wonders for you. Just keep at it and you’ll figure out what your body is telling you πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Heart Gardening · April 11, 2015

    I’ve recently had to make major life changes to alleviate stress and anxiety. starting Heartgardening.net has been great therapy! Thank you for such an encouraging post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Heart Gardening · April 11, 2015

    PS the bulb culture link didn’t work for me not sure why…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. publicinterpretation · April 20, 2015

    Great read. Simple and to the point!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

