Inspiration Of The Day

Helen Keller

This morning I’ve been thinking quite a bit about Helen Keller. She’s my go-to example when people tell me that what they want to do is impossible…because before she existed and succeeded, anyone in their right mind would have argued that what she did was impossible as well. Blind and deaf since birth, born into a family that didn’t know how to help her, and went on to be an author, motivational speaker, and an inspiration to millions. Impossible. And she did it.

So when you’re considering that thing you want to do, think about her. What is it that you want? You want to lose 20 pounds? Get in shape? Run a marathon? Get that girl/guy you’ve been pining after? Have a better relationship with your family? Get a promotion? Double your income? Start your own business? C’mon people! These things are simple when you compare them to what Helen Keller did!

I’m not trying to belittle your struggles, because I know they’re real and I know they’re difficult at times. But we are human beings. We were made to be able to adapt to new situations. It’s what we do! So think like Helen Keller…turn your difficulties and disadvantages into successes and advantages. She was blind and deaf, and that was a huge selling point for anything she did! Her #1 marketing ploy was the very thing that made her life difficult.

It’s all about adaptability. Simply sit down and think about how to adapt to your situation, how you can use what you have now to get where you want to go. Helen Keller would put a hand on Anne Sullivan’s face. One finger on her nose so she could feel the vibrations of the nasal sounds of words, one finger on her lips to feel how they moved and what letters they formed, and one finger under her chin to follow the opening and closing of her mouth. This is adaptability.

You CAN adapt to your situation and learn to make it better. Use Helen Keller as an example. Nothing is impossible if you will only believe that you can, and put all of your energy into it. So the question is…what is worth that effort to you?

8 comments

  1. franz · March 30, 2015

    thank you for the inspiration ….yes, I won’t stop dreaming despite my past failures . Your a great motivator

    Liked by 1 person

    • irrationalliving · March 30, 2015

      Thank you so much! That’s really nice to hear. I hope we can work together to achieve greatness 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • franz · March 30, 2015

        yesI’ll follow your advice it’s a great one . It’s a must read .I love it and it helps a lot cheers! to greatness.

        Liked by 1 person

      • irrationalliving · March 30, 2015

        Thanks! Let me know about your progress!

        Liked by 1 person

      • franz · March 30, 2015

        you will see someday I’m working on it because I know my life’s purpose thanks to you ….my failures is the reason why I try to make a difference to live a self fulfilled life I’m doing it for myself and humanity

        Liked by 1 person

      • irrationalliving · March 30, 2015

        That sounds amazing! I’m really glad my words helped. I believe in you and your mission. Nothing can stop you but you. If there’s anything I can do to help, please let me know!

        Liked by 1 person

      • franz · March 30, 2015

        thank you …it’s good to know there’s someone willing and ready to give a helping hand . I will .

        Liked by 1 person

  2. burchbuilt · March 30, 2015

    Reblogged this on burchbuilt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

