Is Success Right For You?

Wear Success

What do you mean?? Success is something I’ve been struggling to wear and now you’re telling me it might look bad on me?

It doesn’t fit everyone. Or, rather, I should say the size you choose won’t always fit. I know what you’re thinking: “What the heck is this guy talking about?” Here’s the deal…success is attainable in any industry for you, in any venture…it’s possible. But there are very specific things for each of us that will allow success to “fit” us.

Here’s a quote from Jean Cocteau: “The reward of art is not fame or success but intoxication.”

I know this quote could be taken negatively, but I think what he’s getting at here is that when we pursue our true passion, we are intoxicated by the feeling of accomplishment. When we do what we really love, we become so wrapped up in doing it that the act of it alone is our payment. I’m sure you’ve heard the quote, “do what you love and you’ll never work a day in your life.” Well, when you do what you love you’re also paid in something much more precious than money: fulfillment.

This is why some people are perfectly happy struggling to get by while they pursue a career in acting or music or art, or working at a not-for-profit. They’ve discovered that money is only one payment for work. Fulfillment is a currency you’re paid in alongside money for what you love to do.

Conclusion: do what you love, always, and become intoxicated by the feeling it gives you. When you do find what you love and decide to do it for a living…then success will fit you. If you’re after the money alone, it’s going to look weird on you.

4 comments

  1. daniipete · March 28, 2015

    I enjoyed this article. It fits perfectly with my life right now. I work a construction job full time and have decided to go after what I love, health and fitness. Success will follow later, but you have to set the wheels in motion first!!! Letting my passion shine through 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • irrationalliving · March 28, 2015

      Exactly! That’s great to hear. Keeping that positivity is crucial. You absolutely WILL be successful as long as you keep at it 🙂 Congrats! Keep me posted, yea? I love hearing how people go get what they want in the world. Very inspiring!

      Like

  2. Adam · April 2, 2015

    Great thoughts! I think you’re particularly on point when noting that success comes in different size. It will be different for everyone. I’ve found it important to have a very internal standard for my success. Externally, others will try to define it for me. If I bend to the will of external definitions I’d end up living a life to someone else’ standard of success and be far less satisfied than with my own. Knowing who I am and knowing what I want out of life allows me to live to my standard of success regardless of external pressures.

    Keep your thoughts coming. Good to see encouraging voices out here!

    Liked by 1 person

    • irrationalliving · April 2, 2015

      Yes, you are absolutely right! I couldn’t agree more. I think happiness and personal success is so important, and we all need to move toward those things. Great comment, thank you for the support!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

