Get Out There And Fail

Skiier

Fail! Be a failure. Go out and do something and fail. Because only in failure is there growth. You cannot succeed if you never fail, because if you never fail it means you never took a chance. Success isn’t about figuring out what works, it’s about figuring out what doesn’t work.

Bill Gates said, “Success is a lousy teacher. It seduces smart people into thinking they can’t lose.” FAILURE is the best teacher. Remember also that successful people fail too, they’re just better at bouncing back because they’ve had so much practice. So get out there and practice.

I learned from skiing that if you aren’t falling down, then you aren’t pushing your limits, and if you aren’t pushing your limits, you’re never going to get better. So please: push, fail, learn.

8 comments

  1. Tory Thames · March 26, 2015

    I love pushing the limits, but scared of the stop at the end.

    Liked by 1 person

    • irrationalliving · March 26, 2015

      That’s understandable. But if you keep going after the stop, then it becomes less scary 🙂 All we can do is get up and keep going or lie down and watch other people pass us by. Choose the former as often as possible 🙂

      Like

      • Tory Thames · March 26, 2015

        I do. Not all the time, but I do. I also get back up, but there are definitely times that I’m a shaking leaf until I get back on solid ground. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • irrationalliving · March 26, 2015

        I think we all need times like that. The key there is “until I get back on solid ground.”

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ali · March 26, 2015

    “I haven’t failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” – Thomas Edison

    Failing is learning and figuring things out. I couldn’t agree with you more!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. briweb · March 26, 2015

    I love the title! Have you heard of the fixed mindset versus the growth mindset? That is exactly what you are acknowledging. Too many children are raised believing they are “talented” and “smart” which seduces them into thinking that if they fail then they no longer have these attributes. We should be praising work ethic and perseverance!

    Liked by 1 person

    • irrationalliving · March 26, 2015

      I have not, so thank you for sharing! I’m always looking for new things to research. To Google!

      Like

Leave a Reply

