Finding The Right Job For You

Interview

I read a book by Peter Drucker yesterday called “Managing Oneself” (link to that book here in case you want to purchase from Amazon), and in it I learned something quite disturbing about the education system: in school, they don’t teach you what kind of job you’re best suited for.

The example Drucker gives in the book is when the #2 person in a company steps up or is moved up to replace the #1 person who left. A lot of the time, these #2s aren’t fit for the job, and the reason Drucker gives is that certain people are meant to be decision makers (#1 in a company), and others are meant to be advisers (#2 in a company). This is all based on our personalities and our skills. Not everyone can handle being the CEO of a company.

But in school we’re not taught this. We’re taught that we have to find the job that we’re meant for, but not the job that’s meant for us. If you stuck me in a sales position, I would “drop on the deck and flop like a fish,” to quote the Spongebob theme song. That kind of job is not meant for me. I’m sure some people thrive in a steady 9-5. That’s not for me, and it might not be for you.

We have to look at our skills and strengths and figure out what job they could all apply to. What job would you be able to do best? Then, do that job. I think in school there’s a lot of pressure to find what you’re passionate about, as in you need to find a specific industry. And you should do something about which you’re passionate, but maybe the road to that career starts by finding a job in which you excel. We all want recognition for doing great work, and you’ll find that if you search a job that fits you.

For a long time I searched for my passion. If you’ve read my book, you know that I started college in pre-med, then I changed to music, then to English, then I wanted to be a self-made musician, then a real estate agent, then an author. I felt lost that entire time because I was at teh stage in my life where I thought I should be figuring out my life’s calling. Finally I sat down (I wish I had read Drucker’s book back then) and I made a list of everything I enjoyed, commonalities between all of the jobs I had excelled in, and I used that information to decide what I wanted to do with my life.

Give this a shot if you’re unsure, and don’t worry if the answer doesn’t come to you right away. It took several weeks before I had an answer I was happy with. But remember, figuring out what you want to do is exciting, and you shouldn’t stress too much about it. You’ll find it eventually.

Leave a Reply

