How Not To Get Overwhelmed

I recently posted a video about how life is comparable to a Rubik’s cube (here is that video). Basically, I postulate that each individual cube is one aspect of life and success. One might be family, another friends, another wealth, physical health, mental health, etc. When you take the puzzle apart, you can see that the pieces are very simple. But when all of those aspects get crammed into one puzzle (read: life), it gets complicated to the point of frustration, or to the point at which we think it’s impossible to solve. Now I went ahead and ruined that video for you!

I also sent out an email to my subscribers (you can subscribe at the bottom of this post) this morning that mentions this quote: “insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”

So there’s a question now. Of course, if you want different things in your life and you’ve been doing the same things day in and day out for a year, it’s time to start changing them. But if you’ve just started a change, how long is long enough to keep going before you know it isn’t working?

What I mean by this is, we get discouraged too easily because we enjoy instant gratification. We might start doing something (let’s say…writing a blog) and expect it to catch on right away (100s of followers in the first week). However, life doesn’t work like that, and neither does success. Success requires long hours over weeks and weeks (sometimes years!).

But how do we know when something isn’t working? It’s easy to get overwhelmed by this. How do I know if I’m wasting my time? Should I be doing something else? This is a major problem with success, because too many people give up too easily. I know what you’re thinking…but you just said if something isn’t working, then I’m insane! Okay, let me explain.

First of all, if you really want to be successful, you have to do what you love to do. Would you pay to do what you’re doing? If not, then I suggest finding something else. If you don’t love what you do, then you’ll give up too quickly. (As a side note, if you’re thinking you can’t make a living off of what you love, consider Jim Henson…guy played with puppets, and now he’s a millionaire. It’s possible.) As I say in my book, success requires immediacy, consistency, and sacrifice. Consistency is what I’m talking about here. You have to keep doing what you love, and never back down from that.

What you shouldn’t do is blindly continue doing the same thing within whatever you enjoy doing. So if you love blogging, and you decide to advertise your blog but it doesn’t bring you any readers, stop advertising. But don’t stop blogging! Do what you love, always, but change what you do within that field.

Okay, so how long do you stick with one particular strategy? Six weeks. If you don’t see progress after six weeks, give it up, or change how you go about it. It may seem like a long time, but in the grand scheme of things, it’s a blink of an eye. Stick with a strategy for six weeks, and then modify it if you have to. This will ensure that you give it enough time to start working for you, but it’s also a good time to reflect on the progress it has brought you.

Here’s that email sign-up I promised. I send out ONE motivational email every morning:

www.irrationalliving.com/subscribe/

Leave a Reply

